Album Cover

March 29, 2007

The task was to produce a series of images to be used as album cover art for an imaginary band called Abstinent Obsession. Part of the task was to represent the bands identity and the chosen genre of music in the images. Also for this task we students had to produce three square images (front and back cover – with spin details – plus inlay booklet back cover) and one landscape format image (inlay booklet interior).

I wanted the images to have an authentic feel and avoid too much photoshop treatment. I thought the music would sound like something of Massive Attack, Sigur Roos and Jan Garbarek. Something nordic, cold and still but sometimes threatening and intense. I thought ice, the sea, cloudy skies, steel and concrete would communicate this landscape of sounds and make it visible.

Arctica1

Front Cover

I cropped this image and enhanced the exposure on the name of the boat. Arctica became the name of the album, it was perfect for the music I imagined in my head. I added the text with the text tool to a separate layer. It was quite challenging to find a suitable font. It had to be similar to the typing on the boat.

levykeski.jpg

Inlay Booklet Interior

I cropped this image in order to achieve the right format and proportions.

Arctica3

Inlay Booklet Back Cover

This image received the most photoshop treatment. Naturally I cropped it, but then I separated the skyline with the Quick Mask. Then I lowered the exposure of that area to get a darker more menacing sky, like one preceding a storm. I did not want to overdo it though, so I reduced the opacity of that layer.

levytaka.jpg

Back Cover with Spin Details

This is the less serial of all the images. I like the way the building looks and the colour and feeling of steel against the cloudy sky. I cropped the photo and then used the grey from it to the surrounding “background”.

Research And Inspiration

alaetu.jpg alabooktaka.jpg alataka.jpg

boetu.jpg evaetu.jpg

ismoetu.jpg ismobooktaka.jpg
ismosisa.jpg

jarretetu.jpg jarrettaka.jpg

jangarbarek.jpg

The Originals Nikon D70

laiva.jpg meri.jpg
Laiva:
Shutter Speed: 1/125
Aperture: 11
ISO 200
Focal Length 60.0 mm

Meri:
Shutter Speed: 1/125
Aperture: 9
ISO 200
Focal Length 18.0 mm

tornit.jpg nosturi.jpg

Tornit:
Shutter Speed: 1/125
Aperture: 7.1
ISO 200
Focal Length 18.0 mm

Nosturi:
Shutter Speed: 1/125
Aperture: 9
ISO 200
Focal Length 18.0 mm

Leave a Reply

